top of page

Board of Trustees

The Long Branch Free Public Library is governed by an independent Board of Trustees as stipulated in the New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 54, The Board consists of nine members: seven appointed by the mayor of Long Branch and two members designated by statute: the mayor of Long Branch and the Superintendent of the Long Branch Public Schools or their designees. Appointed Board members serve five-year terms.

Role of the Board

The Board of Trustees is the legally designated governing board for the Long Branch Free  Public Library. The Board’s responsibilities are defined by New Jersey State Statute and include developing and implementing library policies, fiduciary oversight, and hiring the library’s executive director. The executive director is in charge of library operations and staff. 

Library Trustees 

Mayor John Pallone                                           unexpired
Francisco Rodriguez    LB  Superintendent     unexpired

Roberto Ferragina        President                     12/31/2025

Kathryn Tarantino         Vice President            12/20/2025
Mary George                 Secretary                    12/31/2026
Joy Bastelli                    Treasurer                    12/31/2028
Jack Kearns                   Trustee                       12/31/2026 

Willie Snell                     Trustee                       12/31/2028

Linda Toye                     Trustee                       12/31/2024


Board meetings are held on the third Monday of the month at 7:30 p.m., unless otherwise noticed. The Board of Trustees complies with the requirements of the State of New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. 

*All meetings will take place in person at the Elberon Branch Library until further notice*


2024 Board of Trustees Meetings


Tuesday        January 16            reorganization meeting 7:00  regular meeting 7:30

Above meeting rescheduled for Monday, January 22nd. Reorganization meeting 7pm, regular meeting 7:30pm


Tuesday         February 20         7:30                     


Monday          March 18              7:30                     

Monday          April 15                 7:30                  


Monday          May 20                 7:30                   


Monday          June 17                 7:30                  


Monday          July 15                  7:30 

Monday          August 19             7:30                


Monday          September 16      7:30                  


Monday          October 21           7:30                     


Monday          November 18      7:30           


Monday          December 16       7:30                     

Minutes of prior meetings are available in the library’s Administration Office.
Contact Molly Sullivan, 732-222-3900, ext., 2250or

American flag waving
bottom of page